offended at losing weight

Standard

These days, I don’t get surprised too much at the stupidity of some people nor at how easily they get offended.  I don’t know if people have always been this stupid, or if our society somehow breeds it in some type of “experiment-gone-wrong” type way.  But either way, some people sure do get offended easily.  Here’s a unique example, which really happened recently.

A 19-year-old overweight guy named Broderick Laswell was arrested last September for beating and stabbing a guy, then setting his house on fire.  When he went to jail, he weighed 413 pounds.  (That’s not just slightly overweight, either — it’s more like “the back of your neck looks like a pack of sausages” fat.)  Anyway, in jail, he’s fed “only” 2300 to 3000 calories per day.  And he’s tried to work out a few times, but he started feeling faint.  He claims that this faintness is due to hunger pains from diminished calorie intake, though it’s more likely because he’s morbidly obese.  I mean, when you’re over 400 pounds, walking across the parking lot is a workout.  (Not that I’d know personally, nor will I be researching this.)

Anyway, this guy is suing the jailers for “lack of nutrition” because he’s lost 105 pounds and is now down to a still-not-healthy 308 pounds.  He claims that this “lack of nutrition” causes his stomach to hurt and growl and be hungry again within an hour of eating.

So, to summarize this, a fat guy commits a crime, goes to jail, is forced to eat a normal amount of food, loses weight, and files a lawsuit over it.  Is he offended at being less fat?  Or does he think prisoners should be fed from a buffet every day?  What is he thinking?

4 responses »

  1. I bet he was planning on throwing his weight around when he got to prison. Now he’s worried he won’t have enough to throw.

    Or he could have had a “See who can have a heart attack and die first” contest going on, and is concerned he may not win.

  2. Fun with Maths
    The Internet seems to agree that a pound of body fat is about 3500 calories. Which means that he has lost 367,500 calories of weight. If he was arrested in September, then he’s been in jail for 7 months, or roughly 210 days. Assuming the weight has been lost at a constant rate, and as a result of only eating less than before, we can guess how much he ate ‘on the outside’.

    He’s getting between 2300 and 3000 a day now, and has lost an average of 1750 a day. His daily meals would then have been between 4,050 and 4,750 calories a day.

    I bet he liked buffets.

  3. I’m a math atheist, so I’ll leave the calorie counting to others. I have no idea how many calories I eat per day, and I like it that way.

    If you start counting calories or fat grams, you’ll have doubt in your mind when you want to eat at a pizza buffet or seafood buffet or Mexican all-you-can-eat restaurant or something like a Wendy’s Baconator. The Bible says that we shouldn’t doubt, that it makes a man unstable in all his ways. Obviously, “all his ways” refers to everything, even eating. I don’t like being unstable. (Having a strong center of gravity helps be stable, too.)

    Also, while I’m referencing Scripture, we should have “faith like a child”. When you’re a child, you don’t worry about your food at all. You eat what you like. I don’t want to worry about whether I’ll survive eating my next meal, so I just have faith that I’ll be okay.

    I know, some folks will think I’m weird and/or strange, but I like living a simple life. Like some say, “ignorance is bliss”. I don’t like to worry and stress about stuff. Plus I’m optimistic. Like, I plan to live forever. So far, so good. 🙂

  4. The latest news reguarding this case is that the guards at this prison have recently spotted this prisoner giving his food away. I guess it doesn’t matter how much food is provided to you if you don’t eat it.

What's on your mind?

