overeating and inactivity doesn’t make you fat

Standard

I’ve always heard that eating too much and not getting enough exercise will make you fat.  That seems reasonable to me.   But I read somewhere online that this isn’t true.  Check out these “facts” someone posted:

The basic assumption here is that people become obese due to overeating and inactivity. This isn’t true. … Obesity is a disorder of excess fat accumulation, not overeating and not sedentary behavior.

Consuming excess calories does not cause us to grow fatter any more than it causes a child to grow taller.

Exercise does not make us lose excess fat; it makes us hungry.

We get fat because of an imbalance — a disequilibrium — in the hormonal regulation of fat tissue and fat metabolism.

So if I understand it, I’m not overweight because of overeating and being lazy, but because of excess fat accumulation.  And exercise doesn’t help you lose weight but actually makes you fatter because you’re hungrier!  (This sure sounds like that “Important Doctor” fellow, but it was someone else.)  And it’s my “hormonal regulation” that is to blame.  Hmm…

If you’re curious what that guy recommended to do to lose weight, his solution is to eat less carbs.  Although I thought he said consuming excess calories doesn’t make us fatter, so I don’t understand.   I just know that according to what that guy said, it’s not my fault!

2 responses »

  1. The obvious answer to this dilemma is to boost your ‘fat metabolism’ this is obvious a lesser known component of our full metabolism. sort of like the recent findings that there is both good (hdl) and bad (ldl) cholesterol. I will research this issue further and report my findings*

    *eat more bacon!

  2. I enjoyed your post. Just wanted anyone reading this that is struggling to check out this ministry:

    http://www.mercyministries.org

    Mercy Ministries was founded by Nancy Alcorn in 1983. It is a non-profit residential counseling program that exists to transform the lives of young women between the ages of 13-28 who face life-controlling issues. The program is free of charge, which is pretty amazing. I want to spread the awareness about Mercy because these problems are all too real in today’s society!

    Take Care!

What's on your mind?

