Forklift Truck Simulator

Standard

There are some unusual video games that get made every year.  Most of the time, I understand — even if the game seems weird to me, at least the developers are using some creativity and trying something new.  There needs to be more chance-taking in game publishing.

But I heard of a game that just blows my mind when I consider how generic it sounds.  It’s called Forklift Truck Simulator.  Below is a screenshot from the game, showing how action-packed this game will be.

Uhh… Maybe there’s something I’m missing.  Let’s examine some of the press release about it:

Get behind the controls of a forklift truck in this highly detailed original simulator.

Your aim is to master the demanding range of tasks facing a forklift truck driver in every day scenarios. Load and unload Lorries and train carriages within a given time schedule or store goods in huge warehouses! …

To make the experience a bit more realistic you begin in a training mode to learn your controls and achieve your license in order to continue to the missions. There is also a “free play” mode which allows you to drive freely and choose where to go and what to do with the goods.

Robert Stallibrass of Excalibur Publishing says: “We are delighted to add Forklift Truck to our range of Simulators. The developers at Astragon have a great sense of detail and have worked hard to make this experience as realistic as possible.”

Again I say, uhh…  I hope there’s a LOT I’m missing, for the sake of the people who put money into this project.  The concept of “as realistic as possible” doesn’t seem like a selling point for me.  I usually play video games so I can do things I can’t normally do in real life.  (Granted, I don’t find myself driving forklifts on a regular basis, but that’s not high on my list of priorities.)  If these forklifts don’t have weapons or power-ups, it doesn’t sound too fun.

The only hope I see for this game is the “free play” mode.  If it allows you to get creative and/or go on a destructive rampage, there could be some fun involved.  But if it’s “realistic” and restricted to work-life experiences, I can’t see it being worthwhile — unless you plan to become a professional forklift driver, but still, real life experience would be a lot better.

But to each their own…

What's on your mind?

