crazy excuses by professional athletes

Professional athletes are known for making excuses why they lose or don’t perform well.  Here’s a couple of funny ones.

Chuck Nevitt at North Carolina State was nervous in practice, and his excuse was : “My sister’s expecting a baby, and I don’t know if I’m going to be an uncle or an aunt.”

British soccer coach Alex Ferguson talked his way out of a speeding ticket by explaining that he had diarrhea and that made him be in such a hurry.

Latrell Sprewell was griping about his contract for $14.8 million per year, saying, “I’ve got a family to feed.”  I just don’t know how someone can live on that…

Pitcher Greg Harris said he got an elbow injury that put him on the disabled list because he was flicking too many sunflower seeds during games.  Maybe he should work out more…

A British shotputter failed a steroids test and said it was because of drinking shampoo.  Uhh…

There are a lot of excuses out there and this could go on for a long time, but in closing I want to share one that has to be near the top for being random, creative, and stupid.  This is from a tennis player who lost to a hated rival in 1992 :

“Musumba Bwayla is a stupid man and a hopeless player.  He beat me because my jockstrap was too tight and because when he serves he farts, and that made me lose my concentration, for which I am famous throughout Zambia.” ~ Lighton Ndefwayl

I wish I could’ve seen the reaction by the reporters and journalists in the room when he said that.  That is just a classic quote!

6 thoughts on “crazy excuses by professional athletes

  1. Pingback: Links 1/19/08 - Kellan « K and J Sports

  2. Thomas Wayne

    I have a similar story… I was going to be a pro baseball player, but my high school coach had gas a lot, and he wanted us to run all the time instead of actually playing baseball, and I had an uncle Burford Wayne who would answer to the name of Windmill. All those unfortunate circumstances ruined my chances of making millions by playing ball… if only I had known all this back then…

  3. Dabo

    I would’ve thrown a No-Hitter every game I pitched except someone would cheat or something and get a so called hit or I would feel sorry for the other team and give them a hit or threve.

What's on your mind?